Lana Del Rey’s Beauty Look at the Grammy Awards Was Everything

by Kasey Caminiti | January 28, 2020 2:30 pm

Lana Del Rey is a retro goddess who always serves up some dazzling red carpet looks from her ethereal look at the Grammy Awards in 2018[1] to her crystal-embellished Gucci gown at the Met Gala in 2018[2]. At the 2020 Grammy Awards, Del Rey was nominated for two of the big four categories: Album of the Year and Song of the Year for Norman F*cking Rockwell and the album’s titular track. The singer arrived in style with her boyfriend Sean Larkin[3] by her side and the pair stunned. Del Rey donned a vintage-inspired flirtatious silver Aidan Mattox gown[4] that she apparently picked up at the mall on a whim. Her makeup look was put together by makeup artist Pamela Cochrane[5] for Pat McGrath Labs. The look was classic and chic, with a dreamy aesthetic reminiscent of a bygone era. See below for the products from Pat McGrath Labs that were used to create Del Rey’s look.

Skin[6]:
SKIN FETISH: Sublime Perfection Primer
SKIN FETISH: Sublime Perfection Foundation in shade ‘LIGHT MEDIUM 8’
SKIN FETISH: Sublime Perfection Powder in shade ‘LIGHT 1’

Eyes:
MOTHERSHIP I: Subliminal Palette[7] – apply ‘ULTIMATE TAUPE’ on the center of the lid
EYEdols Eye Shadow[8] in ‘STATUESQUE’ swiped and blended on lower lash line
Finish with FetishEyes Mascara[9] in ‘XTREME BLACK’

Lips:
Lip Fetish Lip Balm[10] in ‘CLEAR’ to hydrate the lips
PermaGel Ultra Lip Pencil[11] in ‘BUFF’ for shape and definition
MatteTrance Lipstick[12] in ‘1995’ blended in the center of lips

With an eye-catching makeup look in place, it was only fair that Del Rey’s hair be scooped into a stylish updo with a retro feel to it. Hairstylist Sheridan Ward utilized a slew of hair products[13] from Brooklyn-based brand amika[14]. From the detangling primer to the anti-humidity spray, you can easily recreate Del Rey’s look using the below amika[15] products. See below for the full step-by-step break-down.

Spray hair all over with The Wizard Detangling Primer[16] and detangle hair with a wide comb

Apply Plus Size Perfect Body Mousse[17] to the mid-lengths and ends. Blow-dry with a round brush for volume.

Create a center part. Spray hair with The Shield Anti-Humidity Spray[18] to protect hair before using a flat iron.

Apply Glass Action Universal Elixir[19]. Use a flat iron to smooth over the surface for high-shine and add a bend to the ends.

Roll the back of the hair into a French twist and secure.

Smooth a small amount of Supernova Moisture and Shine Cream[20] to tame fly-aways.

Lightly spritz entire style with Fluxus Touchable Hairspra[21]y for extra hold to keep hair in place.

Endnotes:
  1. Grammy Awards in 2018: https://www.harpersbazaar.com/beauty/hair/a15907398/lana-del-rey-grammys-red-carpet-halo/
  2. Met Gala in 2018: https://www.vogue.com/article/lana-del-rey-dress-alessandro-michele-jared-leto-gucci-met-gala
  3. boyfriend Sean Larkin: https://nylon.com/lana-del-rey-cop-grammys?utm_source=NYLON&utm_campaign=a0ea201801-&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_8180d6adad-a0ea201801-79838001
  4. Aidan Mattox gown: https://www.saksfifthavenue.com/aidan-mattox-fully-beaded-evening-gown/product/0400011523923?R=652933570671&P_name=Aidan+Mattox&Ntt=aidan+mattox&N=0
  5. Pamela Cochrane: https://www.instagram.com/p/B70CREcnFCF/
  6. Skin: https://www.patmcgrath.com/collections/face/products/skin-fetish-the-system
  7. MOTHERSHIP I: Subliminal Palette: https://www.patmcgrath.com/collections/eye-shadow-palettes
  8. EYEdols Eye Shadow: https://www.patmcgrath.com/products/eyedols-eye-shadow
  9. FetishEyes Mascara: https://www.patmcgrath.com/collections/fetisheyes-mascara
  10. Lip Fetish Lip Balm: https://www.patmcgrath.com/collections/lip-balm
  11. PermaGel Ultra Lip Pencil: https://www.patmcgrath.com/collections/lip-pencil
  12. MatteTrance Lipstick: https://www.patmcgrath.com/collections/matte-lipstick
  13. hair products: https://dujour.com/gallery/brooklyn-hair-brand-amika-launches-new-packaging/
  14. amika: https://dujour.com/beauty/amika-hair-at-christopher-john-rogers-nyfw-debut-runway-show-ss20/
  15. amika: https://www.instagram.com/amika/?hl=en
  16. The Wizard Detangling Primer: https://loveamika.com/products/the-wizard-detangling-primer
  17. Plus Size Perfect Body Mousse: https://loveamika.com/products/plus-size-perfect-body-mousse?variant=1619379224594&gclid=Cj0KCQiAsbrxBRDpARIsAAnnz_Npe6wtTs_BLLnjuFMedrMiVH3PTaYkZDVEF8YkcPxzXnROsQ4UNi8aAsFoEALw_wcB
  18. The Shield Anti-Humidity Spray: https://www.sephora.com/product/the-shield-style-extending-spray-P409138?skuId=2035111&om_mmc=ppc-GG_1918210005_73516274307_pla-420670336783_2035111_353513009983_9067609_c&country_switch=us&lang=en&ds_rl=1261471&gclid=Cj0KCQiAsbrxBRDpARIsAAnnz_PCzOZq59RQM5wx9mP0macitHA1-3CSkuC4VE1Oxynh7NTG9knV-kUaAmeREALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds
  19. Glass Action Universal Elixir: https://loveamika.com/products/glass-action-universal-elixir
  20. Supernova Moisture and Shine Cream: https://www.sephora.com/product/supernova-moisture-shine-cream-P444069
  21. Fluxus Touchable Hairspra: https://loveamika.com/products/fluxus-touchable-hairspray?variant=1621619539986&gclid=Cj0KCQiAsbrxBRDpARIsAAnnz_NjzH1LDq-OAh2lpzsn7tUTVhzi7iN-jYknIRnKgU9KRZwmD-gObWsaAuP4EALw_wcB

Source URL: https://dujour.com/beauty/lana-del-rey-grammy-awards-hair-makeup-pat-mcgrath-labs-amika/