All Eyes Were On Billie Eilish at The Met Gala

by Kasey Caminiti | September 14, 2021 2:51 pm

When Grammy Award-winning artist Billie Eilish arrived at the MTV Video Music Awards[1] this Sunday, she was the comfiest person in the room by a long shot. The “Happier Than Ever” songstress walked the red carpet in New York City donning a monochromatic black look featuring a long knit sweater, velvet skirt, chunky boots and leg warmers. While we all love a good cozy vibe, fans were curious about how the 19-year-old[2] would arrive to the Met Gala the following day.

Billie Eilish at the 2021 MTV Video Music Awards at Barclays Center on September 12, 2021. (Photo by Noam Galai/Getty Images for MTV/ViacomCBS)

Billie Eilish at the 2021 MTV Video Music Awards at Barclays Center on September 12, 2021. (Photo by Noam Galai/Getty Images for MTV/ViacomCBS)

As a co-chair of the 2021 Met Gala[3] and general fashion trailblazer, Eilish certainly did not disappoint in a pale pink custom-made Oscar de la Renta gown and Cartier diamonds. As a vegan and adamant animal rights activist, Eilish agreed to wear Oscar de la Renta so long as the brand adopted a completely anti-fur stance in its fashion designs. The label agreed and Eilish took to Instagram[4] to express her gratitude. To complement the dramatic gown and glittery jewels, makeup artist Rob Rumsey[5] opted for a retro makeup aesthetic with a signature Billie edge. “The inspiration behind Billie’s makeup look was old Hollywood glamour meets rockstar. We paired a rich, smoldering smokey eye and a nude lip with an illuminating highlighter for the ultimate Hollywood glass-like glow,” Rumsey says. Using skincare from BYBI and Charlotte Tilbury’s new Super Nudes Collection, Rumsey created a Met Gala-worthy glow that we can’t wait to try at home. Below, we broke down the look.

Skin Preparation by BYBI:

Start with Swipe Clean[6] to prep, clean and moisturize the skin and give a fresh, clean base. It’s the perfect gentle yet effective oil cleanser + makeup remover that melts away dirt, grime, SPF and stubborn makeup without leaving a greasy film or irritating skin. Spritz on Mega Mist[7] as a refreshing and hydrating moment to leave the skin plump, dewy and bouncy. Next, mix 2 drops of Strawberry Booster[8] into the C-Caf Cream[9] and massage into the face and neck to brighten and hydrate while reducing any puffiness. For the eyes, apply Bright Eyed[10] to visibly plump and illuminate the delicate skin around the eye area by tapping around the eye area with your ring finger. The light-reflecting, sustainably sourced peach mica counteracts the appearance of dark circles and shadowy lids. To prep the lips, start with Buffer Lip Scrub[11] to buff away dry, chapped skin and finish with Babe Balm[12] for mega hydration and saturation.

Sustainable skincare brand BYBI

Sustainable skincare brand BYBI

Makeup Using Charlotte Tilbury:

Complexion: Light Wonder Foundation[13], Magic Away Liquid Concealer[14], Charlotte’s Genius Magic Powder[15]

Cheek: The Super Nudes Nudegasm Face Palette[16], Cheek to Chic in Pillow Talk[17]

Eyes: Luxury Palette in The Sophisticate and Golden Goddess[18], Rock ‘N’ Kohl in Bedroom Black[19], Full Fat Lashes Mascara in Glossy Black[20]

Eyebrows: Brow Cheat in Natural Brown[21], Brow Fix[22]

Lips: Lip Cheat in Iconic Nude[23], The Super Nudes K.I.S.S.I.N.G in Runway Royalty[24]

Billie Eilish at the 2021 Met Gala

Billie Eilish at the 2021 Met Gala

Endnotes:
  1. MTV Video Music Awards: https://www.elle.com/culture/celebrities/a33840613/billie-eilish-mtv-vmas-2021-outfit/
  2. 19-year-old: https://dujour.com/culture/billie-eilish-pop-star-interview-all-things-go-fall-classic-music-festival/
  3. 2021 Met Gala: https://dujour.com/gallery/from-the-mark-hotel-to-the-met-gala/
  4. Eilish took to Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/CTyEHQ5Laig/
  5. makeup artist Rob Rumsey: https://www.instagram.com/robrumseymua/
  6. Swipe Clean: https://us.bybi.com/collections/shop-all/products/swipe-clean
  7. Mega Mist: https://www.target.com/p/bybi-mega-mist-ha-toner-2-3-fl-oz/-/A-80377735#lnk=sametab
  8. Strawberry Booster: https://www.target.com/p/bybi-strawberry-booster-facial-treatment-0-5-fl-oz/-/A-80377731#lnk=sametab
  9. C-Caf Cream: https://us.bybi.com/collections/shop-all/products/c-caf-cream?variant=40367045738646
  10. Bright Eyed: https://www.target.com/p/bybi-bright-eyed-eye-cream-0-5-fl-oz/-/A-80377901#lnk=sametab
  11. Buffer Lip Scrub: https://us.bybi.com/collections/shop-all/products/lip-kit-buffer-plumper-set
  12. Babe Balm: https://us.bybi.com/collections/shop-all/products/babe-balm
  13. Light Wonder Foundation: https://www.sephora.com/product/light-wonder-foundation-P434103?
  14. Magic Away Liquid Concealer: https://www.sephora.com/product/magic-away-concealer-P436869?
  15. Charlotte’s Genius Magic Powder: https://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/product/charlottes-genius-magic-loose-powder-1-fair?
  16. The Super Nudes Nudegasm Face Palette: https://www.sephora.com/product/charlotte-tilbury-supernudes-nudegasm-face-palette-P475920
  17. Cheek to Chic in Pillow Talk: https://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/product/cheek-to-chic-pillow-talk
  18. Luxury Palette in The Sophisticate and Golden Goddess: https://www.sephora.com/product/luxury-eyeshadow-palette-P433523?
  19. Rock ‘N’ Kohl in Bedroom Black: https://www.sephora.com/product/rock-n-kohl-eyeliner-pencil-P433835?
  20. Full Fat Lashes Mascara in Glossy Black: https://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/product/full-fat-lashes-glossy-black?
  21. Brow Cheat in Natural Brown: https://www.sephora.com/product/charlotte-tilbury-brow-cheat-P470203?
  22. Brow Fix: https://www.sephora.com/product/charlotte-tilbury-brow-fix-brow-gel-P470208
  23. Lip Cheat in Iconic Nude: https://www.sephora.com/product/lip-cheat-lip-liner-P433516
  24. The Super Nudes K.I.S.S.I.N.G in Runway Royalty: https://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/product/k-i-s-s-i-n-g-runway-royalty

Source URL: https://dujour.com/beauty/billie-eilish-met-gala-beauty-look/