Henry Street Settlement Gala

See the beautiful faces that turned out on Thursday night to raise funds for the New York City-based non-profit.

by Natasha Wolff | April 6, 2013 9:00 am

Designer Reed Krakoff[1], financier/writer Alexandra Lebenthal[2], and Carolina Gonzalez-Bunster, co-founder of the Walkabout Foundation[3], were the honorees at the Henry Street Settlement’s[4] annual dinner dance and auction, which took place on Thursday, April 4th. The non-profit serves New Yorkers by providing innovative social services, arts programs and health care services (from transitional housing to shelters, senior services, summer camps and college prep programs) for those in need. The Plaza Hotel’s[5] ballroom set the springtime scene with cherry blossom branches and dangling votive candles adorning each table. Tommy and Dee Hilfiger[6], Jennifer Creel[7], Shirin von Wulffen[8], and Steve and Christine Schwarzman held court at dinner together amongst a host of fashion editors, designers and entrepreneurs. The meal—tuna tartare and short ribs followed by a creamy cheesecake dessert—was studded with speeches from the honorees and the organization’s executive director David Garza (who started off the festivities with a witty rap) as well as an auction led by Christie’s[9] Katie Jacobs. Afterwards, guests enjoyed some late-night revelry while mingling and dancing to tunes by Rihanna.

Take a look in the DuJour gallery to see more from the evening.

Written by Natasha Wolff[10]

Endnotes:
  1. Reed Krakoff: http://www.reedkrakoff.com/online/handbags/USIndexView?storeId=16001&catalogId=16500&langId=-1
  2. Alexandra Lebenthal: http://www.alexandralebenthal.com/
  3. Walkabout Foundation: http://www.walkaboutfoundation.org/
  4. Henry Street Settlement’s: http://www.henrystreet.org/
  5. The Plaza Hotel’s: http://www.theplazany.com/
  6. Tommy and Dee Hilfiger: http://usa.tommy.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/en/thb2cus
  7. Jennifer Creel: http://www.jennifercreel.com/
  8. Shirin von Wulffen: http://balharbourshops.com/fashion/style-icon/item/89-shirin-von-wulffen
  9. Christie’s: http://www.christies.com/
  10. Natasha Wolff: http://dujour.com/contributors/natasha-wolff/

Source URL: http://dujour.com/cities/new-york/henry-street-settlement-gala-photos/