Recreate Greta Gerwig’s Golden Globes Makeup

The celebrity makeup artist behind the “modern Hollywood” look spills her secrets

by Rachel Barber | January 8, 2018 2:00 pm

Last night, Greta Gerwig, writer and director of Lady Bird, took home the Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy. The film won against Jordan Peele’s Get Out, James Franco’s The Disaster Artist, Michael Gracey’s The Greatest Showman, and Craig Gillespie’s I, Tonya. During her acceptance speech, Gerwig thanked her “beautiful cast,” including “the goddesses Saoirse Ronan and Laurie Metcalf.” She also gave a shout out to her hometown of Sacramento, California, the location that inspired the screenplay for Lady Bird, saying, “[Sacramento] gave me roots and wings and helped me to get to where I am today.”

We were touched by Gerwig’s passionate speech and also couldn’t help but notice her enviable smokey eye—a look created by celebrity makeup artist Jenn Streicher[1], inspired by “modern Hollywood,” exclusively for Charlotte Tilbury. Here, we got the breakdown of how to recreate the polished yet glam red carpet look.

@jennstreicher[2]

@jennstreicher

PREP

To begin, Streicher applied Caudalie’s new Premier Cru Serum[3] to the face and décolleté to energize skin, followed with the Caudalie Premier Cru Eye Cream[4] and Premier Cru Cream[5] for an additional radiance boost.

FACE

Streicher created an even base with Charlotte Tilbury’s new Brightening Youth Glow[6] as an all-over primer, followed by Magic Foundation[7]. Streicher then applied the new Hollywood Flawless Filter (which launches March 2018!) over the foundation to highlight the cheekbones, décolleté and cleavage. This combo complexion trick creates optimal glow levels, according to Streicher.

She then used the Hollywood Contour Wand in Light/Medium[8] to sculpt and add subtle definition, followed by a dusting of the bestselling Charlotte Tilbury Bar of Gold[9] along the tops of the cheekbones and in the corners of the eyes. Streicher finished Gerwig’s look with Airbrush Flawless Finish in 2 Medium[10] and spritzed Caudalie’s Beauty Elixir[11] to keep the face smudge-proof all night.

@jennstreicher[12]

@jennstreicher

EYES

For a modern spin on the classic smokey eye, Streicher applied Charlotte Tilbury Rock ‘N’ Kohl Eyeliner in Bedroom Black[13] to the top lash line for a smoked-up base. Streicher then went for Tilbury’s Luxury Palette in The Rock Chick[14], wetting the brush and applying the silvery-grey “enhance” shade and black “smoke” shade to t

Written by Rachel Barber[15]

Endnotes:
  1. Jenn Streicher: https://www.instagram.com/jennstreicher/?hl=en
  2. [Image]: https://www.instagram.com/p/BdqVn0wA_4E/?hl=en&taken-by=jennstreicher
  3. Premier Cru Serum: https://us.caudalie.com/premier-cru-the-serum.html
  4. Caudalie Premier Cru Eye Cream: https://us.caudalie.com/premier-cru-the-eye-cream-4.html
  5. Premier Cru Cream: https://us.caudalie.com/premier-cru-the-cream-7.html
  6. Brightening Youth Glow: http://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/brightening-youth-glow.html
  7. Magic Foundation: http://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/new-magic-foundation
  8. Hollywood Contour Wand in Light/Medium: https://shop.nordstrom.com/s/charlotte-tilbury-hollywood-contour-wand/4729365
  9. Bar of Gold: http://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/the-bar-of-gold.html
  10. Airbrush Flawless Finish in 2 Medium: http://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/airbrush-flawless-finish-2-medium.html
  11. Caudalie’s Beauty Elixir: https://www.sephora.com/product/beauty-elixir-P6025
  12. [Image]: https://www.instagram.com/p/BdqqlvQA2eN/?hl=en&taken-by=jennstreicher
  13. Rock ‘N’ Kohl Eyeliner in Bedroom Black: http://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/rock-n-kohl-bedroom-black.html
  14. Luxury Palette in The Rock Chick: http://www.charlottetilbury.com/us/luxury-palette-the-rock-chick.html
  15. Rachel Barber: http://dujour.com/contributors/rachel-barber/

Source URL: http://dujour.com/beauty/recreate-greta-gerwigs-golden-globes-makeup/